November 23, 2022
-
5 minutes

What is "hot desking"?

Hot desking is a hybrid form of work where employees reserve their workstation according to the availability of offices at any given time, particularly in the context of flex-office

What is "hot desking"?


Hot desking is a new form of organization within the framework of hybrid work where employees can reserve their workstation according to the availability in the offices at the moment.

This type of access to hot-desk workstations is notably done within the framework of flex-office where companies will offer limited places to their employees in order to optimize their work spaces.

The employee will therefore reserve his workspace in advance or risk having to work at a location that is less convenient for him, or even stay at home if he does not.

Hot desking allows us to face the challenges brought by the hybridization of work or the flex-office: first of all, team cohesion and then employee commitment.

The pioneers of this type of operation are coworking spaces, like WeWork, which very quickly offered individual leases in the form of a hot desk.

Thanks to the flexibility that hot desking can offer employees and work teams, it is now likely that hot desking will become one of the most common hybrid work strategies in innovative organizations in the coming years.

Wondering if hot desking can be a useful choice for your business?

We invite you to read the following carefully. In this article, we will take a closer look at the principle of hot desking and how it can help hybrid or flex office companies achieve their goals.

In the age of quiet quitting and the big resignationthe hot desk is one of the options of the new work modes that can offer flexibility and freedom for both the employer and the employee.

What is hot desking?

Hot desking is a form ofhybrid work organization where employees will have access to available office space on a first come, first served basis. Companies generally turn to hot desking to optimize the presence of their teams in the office, ensure the profitability of their work spaces and reduce the costs of their real estate policy.

What are the advantages of "hot desking"?

As previously mentioned, the hot desk in the context of hybrid work (telework / face-to-face) offers many advantages for both the employee and the company:

Optimization of work spaces

Hot desking allows for the optimization of work spaces by reducing the number of offices allocated in a professional building. All types of workspaces are concerned (coworking, meeting room, closed offices, open space) in this flexible configuration of the work environment.

Real estate profitability

Reducing real estate costs is one of the primary benefits. With the implementation of hot desks, companies can maximize the use of existing office space, limit the number of offices allocated on the floor plan and reduce their real estate portfolio.

In addition, according to this article in Les EchosIn Paris, the value of prime real estate is skyrocketing to over 930 euros per square meter.

An optimal collaboration

Hot desks can improve the efficiency of employees in the workplace and facilitate team collaboration. However, adopting a new form of organization without prior preparation can destabilize employees, who are used to being in the office at the same time.

The hot desk can involve the adoption of an attendance management tool for employees. Your team members could organize in advance where they want to work, inform their colleagues and favor collective moments.

We can thus easily respond to the needs of current projects through a common schedule or, if not, set up a recurrence.

Collective vision of the hybrid

Thanks to hot desking, colleagues can meet in places where they would not otherwise see each other. Each employee is free to choose and can freely declare his place of work according to his colleagues. Each work group or project team can therefore meet and improve their relationship.

The flexibility of hot-desking can lead to psychosocial risks in the context of telework, such as depression or the risk of isolation of remote employees.

The informal moments in the office are therefore fundamental in a successful hot-desking policy.

In its barometer Telework and Hybrid Organizations 2022In its survey, 82% of eligible employees say they would like to work in hybrid mode and 33% would like to have social spaces or meeting places for informal exchanges between colleagues.

Work flexibility

Hot desking is clearly linked to the advent of hybrid work and telecommuting. Forget about booking an office and respecting work schedules. Through this system, we seek above all to facilitate our lives. The flexibility of the spaces makes the work environment more comfortable and dynamic.

This can be seen, for example, in the RATP, where the director of the Transilien system, Sylvie Charles, is calling for a "better smoothing" of home-work journeys during the week, because of the massive use of telecommuting on Fridays.

Performance

It's a new organizational model, says performance This is what the National Productivity Council (NPC) report states in 2022, which estimates that teleworkers will generate a long-term productivity gain of 5 to 9%.

Let's therefore create custom offices where the employee doesn't need to book a shift and decides where they want to work. These shared workspaces promote the productivity and creativity of its occupants.

Employee experience 

As we have just seen, the implementation of the hot desk tends to encourage employee commitment. Indeed, the hot desk is a real trend in a talent retention strategy, the employee experience is a real trend in a talent retention strategy. Hot desking reinforces this experience by giving more satisfaction and autonomy to employees, notably thanks to a more flexible and adapted management. The implementation of hot desking can be detrimental to engagement, hence the interest in using a solution dedicated to hybrid work management. The objective in this case is to optimize the work spaces while taking into account the risks related to the practice of telecommuting.

What are the risks associated with the "hot desk"?

Although the "hot desk" has many advantages, this mode of work is also a source of disadvantages:

  • Organizational difficulties
  • Overbooking of spaces
  • Empty offices

How to better understand the implementation of this new model?

Moving to flex-office or hot-desking requires the adoption of a dedicated tool. These employee presence management solutions are designed to help organizations implement a hybrid work mode - alternating between teleworking and face-to-face work. 

Here are the advantages of a presence management schedule to better monitor hot desking:

Save time 

Give employees the possibility to fill in the workstation occupancy schedule simply and simultaneously. The services offered to employees adjust automatically. Spaces and services are thus adapted to this new working environment.

Sharing attendance data

Allow employees to freely choose where they work. Teams will organize themselves and decide where they want to work.

Optimize the workspace

Bring work teams together only when necessary. Employees are informed of their colleague's presence to optimize space: offices are now tailor-made!

Make your real estate investment profitable

Optimize your real estate policy with employee presence data. It is possible to use the data to better organize the space and surfaces dedicated to the hot desk.

How to deploy a hot desking strategy?

The first feedback from hot desking

Hot desking can be an effective strategy when deployed in the right work environment, especially when used to support a flexible work strategy, collaborative workspace or hybrid work model.

The work environments that benefit most from hot desks allow for simple and seamless workplace management, services and events:

Easy to set up for the employee

To be effective, it is better to offer a simple model to employees: declaration of presence in 2 clicks, indication of the recurrence of hot desking and clear visualization of the information. The employee then only needs to go to his workstation or dedicated workspace when he wants to.

Reunion between work teams

Or how to answer the question "where are my favorite colleagues?"

The challenge of hot desking in this context is the ability of organizations to continue the life of the company, particularly events (team-buildings, afterwork, etc.), services associated with coming to the workplace (parking, lunch, etc.) and work groups (collaborative spaces, meeting rooms). 

A step forward for team cohesion with work hybridization.

Simplified management for companies

A new model involves all the obstacles to the implementation of a new project in a company (resistance to change, internal communication, fill rate). The adoption of hot desking by the employee and the ease of management by the administrators (HR, General Services, IT) are the keys to the success of the transition to hot desking.

How to evaluate the effectiveness of hot desking?

Implementing hot desking is a structural business project. It takes time to track office usage and ensure that the available hot desks match the needs of your team.

Teams should closely monitor the following metrics to measure the success of hot desking in their organization.

Flexibility rate

Tracking and improving occupancy is one of the easiest ways for companies to create a more efficient office space. It's also the best way to ensure that they have the right ratio of free office space to meet the needs of employees in their workplace.

Analysis of work patterns

Analyzing workplaces can help companies understand how their offices and spaces are used. It provides a holistic view of what a company needs to ensure cost-effectiveness and office optimization. Interesting usage data can be retrieved (team statistics, preferred work styles, occupancy rates).

Space management 

Showing how space is divided and used by employees over time enables real estate decision making. Tracking workspace utilization can help companies understand where teams congregate, identify what space is being used (or not), improve office layouts, and optimize the types of positions available in the building.

To conclude, this type of data can only be obtained through the use of dedicated software that will be able to generate these indicators. 

Attendance data allows you to optimize office space and layout according to occupancy. 

The graphical representations linked to these data allow you to manage spaces, identify preferred work modes and analyze occupancy rates.

Charles Helliet

Hybrid work at your fingertips.

Our team is available to help you and answer all your questions!

Try it for freeRequest a demo

November 23, 2022
-
5 minutes

Qu'est ce que le "hot desking" ?

Le hot desking est une forme de travail hybride où les collaborateurs réservent leur poste de travail selon la disponibilité des bureaux à l'instant T, notamment dans le cadre du flex-office

Qu'est ce que le "hot desking" ?


Le hot desking est une nouvelle forme d’organisation dans le cadre du travail hybride où les collaborateurs peuvent réserver leur poste de travail selon la disponibilité dans les bureaux à l'instant T.

Ce type d’accès à des postes de travail en hot desk se fait notamment dans le cadre du flex-office où les entreprises vont proposer des places limitées à leurs collaborateurs afin d’optimiser leurs espaces de travail.

Le collaborateur va par conséquent réserver son espace de travail à l’avance sous peine de devoir travailler à un emplacement qui lui convient moins ou même rester à défaut en télétravail.

Le hot desking permet de faire face aux challenges portés par l’hybridation du travail ou le flex-office : on peut citer d’abord la cohésion des équipes et ensuite l’engagement des collaborateurs.

Les pionniers de ce type de fonctionnement sont les espaces de coworking, à l’instar de WeWork, qui ont très rapidement proposé des baux de locations individuels sous forme de hot desk.

Grâce à la flexibilité que le hot desking peut offrir aux collaborateurs et aux équipes de travail, il est désormais probable que le hot desk devienne l'une des stratégies de travail hybride les plus courantes dans les organisations innovantes ces prochaines années.

Vous vous demandez si le hot desking peut être un choix utile pour votre entreprise ?

Nous invitons à lire attentivement ce qui suit. Dans cet article, nous allons examiner de plus près le principe du hot desking et comment peut-il aider les entreprises hybrides ou en flex office à atteindre leurs objectifs.

À l’ère du quiet quitting et de la grande démission, le hot desk est une des options des nouveaux modes de travail qui peuvent offrir une flexibilité et une liberté tant pour l’employeur que pour le salarié.

Qu'est-ce que le hot desking ?

Le hot desking est une forme d’organisation du travail hybride où les collaborateurs vont avoir accès à des bureaux disponibles à un instant T, selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. Les entreprises se tournent généralement vers le hot desking pour optimiser la présence de leurs équipes au bureau, veiller à la rentabilité de leurs espaces de travail et réduire les coûts de leur politique immobilière.

Quels sont les avantages du "hot desking" ?

Comme évoqué précédemment, le hot desk dans le cadre du travail hybride (télétravail / présentiel) offre de nombreux avantages tant pour le collaborateur que pour l'entreprise :

Optimisation des espaces de travail

Le hot desking permet d'optimiser les espaces de travail en réduisant le nombre de bureaux attribués dans un immeuble professionnel. Tous les types d’espaces de travail sont concernés (coworking, salle de réunion, bureaux fermés, open space) dans cette configuration flexible de l’environnement de travail.

Rentabilité immobilière

La réduction des coûts immobiliers est l'un des principaux avantages. Avec la mise en place de hot desks, les entreprises peuvent maximiser l'utilisation de l'espace de bureau existant, limiter le nombre de bureaux attribués sur le plan d'étage et réduire leur portefeuille immobilier.

Par ailleurs, selon cet article des Echos, l’immobilier de bureaux est en recherche d’un nouvel équilibre : à Paris, la valeur de l'immobilier prime explose, à plus de 930 euros/m².

Une collaboration optimale

Les hot desks peuvent améliorer l'efficacité des collaborateurs sur leur lieu de travail et faciliter la collaboration des équipes. Cependant adopter une nouvelle forme d’organisation sans préparation préalable peut déstabiliser les collaborateurs, habitués à se retrouver régulièrement, tous en même temps au bureau.

Le hot desk peut impliquer l’adoption d’un outil de gestion de présence pour les collaborateurs. Les membres de votre équipe pourraient s’organiser en amont d’où ils veulent travailler, informer leurs collègues et favoriser les moments collectifs.

On peut ainsi aisément à travers un planning commun répondre aux besoins des projets du moment ou bien dans le cas contraire installer une récurrence.

Vision collective de l’hybride

Grâce au hot desking, les collègues peuvent se retrouver là où ils ne se verraient pas autrement. Chaque collaborateur est libre de choisir et peut déclarer librement son lieu de travail en fonction de ses collègues. Chaque groupe de travail ou équipe projet peut donc se retrouver et améliorer leur relation.

Le hot desking par sa flexibilité peut entraîner des risques psychosociaux dans le cadre du télétravail notamment la dépression ou bien des risques d’isolement des collaborateurs à distance.

Les moments informels au bureau sont donc fondamentaux dans une politique de hot desking réussie.

Dans son baromètre Télétravail et Organisations hybrides 2022, 82% des salariés éligibles déclarent souhaiter travailler en mode hybride et 33% souhaitent disposer d’espaces de convivialité ou de lieux de rencontre pour des échanges informels entre collègues.

Flexibilité du travail

Le hot desking est clairement lié à l'avènement du travail hybride et du télétravail. Oublions donc la réservation de bureau et le sacro-saint respect des horaires de travail. À travers ce système, on cherche avant tout à se faciliter la vie. La flexibilité des espaces rend l’environnement de travail plus confortable et dynamique.

On le voit notamment par la RATP où la directrice du Transilien Sylvie Charles appelle à "mieux lisser" sur la semaine les trajets domicile-travail, en raison du recours massif au télétravail le vendredi.

Performance

Qui dit nouveau modèle organisationnel, dit performance : c'est ce qu'affirme le rapport du Conseil national de la productivité (CNP) en 2022, qui estime que les télétravailleurs engendrent à long terme un gain de productivité de 5 à 9%.

Créons par conséquent des bureaux sur-mesures où le collaborateur n’a pas besoin de réserver de poste et décide d’où il veut travailler. Ces espaces de travail partagés favorisent la productivité et la créativité de ses occupants.

Expérience collaborateur 

Comme nous venons de le voir précédemment, la mise en place du hot desk tend à favoriser l’engagement collaborateur. En effet, l’expérience autour du collaborateur est une vraie tendance dans une stratégie de fidélisation des talents. Le hot desking vient renforcer cette expérience en donnant plus de satisfaction et d’autonomie aux collaborateurs, notamment grâce à un management plus souple et adapté. La mise en place du hot desking peut nuire à l'engagement d’où l’intérêt de prendre une solution dédiée à la gestion du travail hybride. L’objectif dans ce cas est d’optimiser les espaces de travail tout en prenant en compte les risques liés à la pratique du télétravail.

Quels sont les risques liés au "hot desk" ?

Bien que le "hot desk" présente de nombreux avantages, ce mode de travail est aussi vecteur d’inconvénients :

  • Difficultés organisationnelles
  • Surbooking des espaces
  • Bureaux vides

Comment mieux appréhender la mise en place de ce nouveau modèle ?

Passer au flex-office ou au hot-desking nécessite l’adoption d’un outil dédié. Ces solutions de gestion de présence des collaborateurs ont pour objectif d'accompagner les structures dans la mise en place du mode de travail hybride - alternance entre télé-travail et présentiel. 

Voici les avantages d’un planning de gestion de présence pour mieux monitorer le hot desking :

Gagner du temps 

Donnez aux collaborateurs la possibilité de remplir simplement et simultanément le planning d’occupation des postes de travail. Les services offerts aux collaborateurs s'ajustent automatiquement. Les espaces et les services sont donc adaptés à ce nouvel environnement de travail.

Partager la donnée de présence

Permettez aux collaborateurs de choisir de saisir librement leur lieu de travail. Les équipes vont s'organiser et décider d’où elles souhaitent travailler.

Optimiser l’espace de travail

Réunissez les équipes de travail uniquement quand cela est nécessaire. Les collaborateurs sont informés de la présence de leur collègue pour une optimisation des espaces : les bureaux sont désormais sur-mesure !

Rentabiliser l'investissement immobilier

Optimisez votre politique immobilière grâce aux données de présence des collaborateurs. Il est possible d’utiliser la data pour mieux aménager l’espace et les surfaces dédiées au hot desk.

Comment déployer une stratégie de hot desking ?

Les premiers retours d’expériences du hot desking

Le hot desking peut être une stratégie efficace lorsqu'il est déployé dans le bon environnement de travail, en particulier lorsqu'il est utilisé pour soutenir une stratégie de travail flexible, un espace de travail collaboratif ou un modèle de travail hybride.

Les environnements de travail qui bénéficient le mieux des hot desks permettent une gestion des lieux de travail, les services et événements simples et transparents :

Simplicité de mise en place pour le collaborateur

Pour être efficace, mieux vaut offrir un modèle simple aux collaborateurs : déclaration de la présence en 2 clics, indication de la récurrence du hot desking et visualisation claire de l’information. Le collaborateur a ensuite uniquement besoin de rejoindre son poste de travail ou son espace de travail dédié quand il le souhaite.

Retrouvailles entre équipes de travail

Où comment répondre à la question “où sont mes collègues préférés ?”

L’enjeu du hot desking dans ce contexte est la capacité des organisations à continuer la vie de l’entreprise notamment les évènements (team-buildings, afterwork, etc.), les services associés à la venue sur le lieu de travail (parking, déjeuner, etc.) et les groupes de travail (espaces collaboratifs, salles de réunions). 

Une avancée pour la cohésion d'équipe avec l'hybridation du travail.

Gestion simplifiée pour les entreprises

Un nouveau modèle implique tous les freins à l’implémentation d’un nouveau projet dans une entreprise (résistance au changement, communication interne, taux de remplissage). L’adoption du hot desking par le collaborateur et la facilité de gestion par les admins (RH, Services Généraux, IT) sont les clés de la réussite du passage au hot desks.

Comment évaluer l’efficacité du hot desking ?

La mise en place du hot desking est un projet d’entreprise structurant. Il faut du temps pour suivre l'utilisation des bureaux et s'assurer que les hot desks disponibles correspondent aux besoins de votre équipe.

Les équipes doivent surveiller de près les paramètres suivants pour mesurer le succès du hot desking dans leur organisation.

Taux de flexibilité

Suivre et améliorer le taux d'occupation est l'un des moyens les plus simples pour les entreprises de créer un espace de bureau plus efficace. C'est également le meilleur moyen de s'assurer qu'elles disposent du bon ratio de bureaux libres pour répondre aux besoins des collaborateurs sur leur lieu de travail.

Analyse des modes de travail

Analyser les lieux de travail peut aider les entreprises à comprendre l'utilisation de leurs bureaux et de leurs espaces. Cela permet d'obtenir une vue d'ensemble de ce dont une entreprise a besoin pour veiller à la rentabilité et l’optimisation des bureaux. On peut récupérer des données intéressantes d’utilisations (statistiques d’équipes, modes de travail privilégiés, taux de remplissage, taux d’occupation).

Gestion des espaces 

Montrer comment l'espace est divisé et utilisé par les collaborateurs au fil du temps permet la prise de décision immobilière. Le suivi de l'utilisation de l'espace de travail peut aider les entreprises à comprendre où les équipes se rassemblent, à identifier l'espace utilisé (ou non), à améliorer l’aménagement des bureaux et à optimiser les types de postes disponibles dans l’immeuble.

Pour conclure, ce type de données s'obtient uniquement via l’utilisation d’un logiciel dédié qui sera en mesure de générer ces indicateurs. 

Les données de présence vous permettent d'optimiser les surfaces et l'aménagement des bureaux selon leur occupation. 

Les représentations graphiques liées à ces données permettent de piloter la gestion des espaces, d’identifier des modes de travail favoris et d’analyser les taux de remplissage.

Charles Helliet

Le travail hybride à portée de main.

Notre équipe est disponible pour vous accompagner et répondre à toutes vos questions !

Essayer gratuitementDemander une démo