November 22, 2022
-
2 minutes

Telecommuting could boost productivity, says report

Deployed on a massive scale during the Covid-19 pandemic, telecommuting can provide a long-term boost to business productivity if it continues to be so widespread, the National Productivity Council (NPC) noted in a report released last spring.

Telecommuting could boost productivity, says report

Telecommuting can boost business productivity, according to the National Productivity Council.

"Unlike many previous crises that led to a slowdown in productivity trends, the acceleration in the use of telecommuting due to the health crisis could ultimately lead to a sustainable gain in productivity," the Matignon-based organization said.

A one-point increase in the percentage of employees teleworking "would improve overall factor productivity by an average of about 0.45%," write the authors, who base their findings on a study by the Banque de France.

"Extrapolating this result to the overall level of the French economy, the increase in the proportion of teleworkers from about 5% in the pre-Covid period (4% of regular teleworkers in 2019, editor's note) to 25% in the longer term" would generate an average productivity gain of 5 to 9%.

But beware, "this is a first estimate, which should be confirmed by other studies once the situation of teleworking has stabilized", warns the CNP.

Boosted by the pandemic, the percentage of employees working remotely has fluctuated according to the confinements and relaxations of health restrictions.

"37% of employees experienced it, either regularly or not, between March 2020 and January 2021," the NOC details.

But in November 2021, only 21% of employees said they worked remotely at least one day a week.

At the same time, the use of telecommuting must be measured, the NPC points out, so "that its positive effects on worker efficiency outweigh the losses."

Telecommuting: "you can't duplicate what happens from one organization to another"

How to prevent burn-out?

According to an OECD survey cited in the report, the optimal frequency of remote work would be "between two and three days a week".

A "hybrid" way of working that complicates the task of managers who are challenged to reconcile the advantages of teleworking (reduced costs and travel time in particular) with their disadvantages (reduced interaction between employees).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlapfuCEH3k&ab_channel=Offishall

What are the most teleworked days of the week?

"Telecommuting should be possible somewhere other than home."

Offishall is an employee presence management solution that aims to support organizations in the implementation of hybrid work mode - alternating between tele-work and face-to-face work. Every day, the company allows thousands of users to know who is where when and thus to find themselves in the office (better).

The Editor

Hybrid work at your fingertips.

Our team is available to help you and answer all your questions!

Try it for freeRequest a demo

November 22, 2022
-
2 minutes

Le télé-travail pourrait doper la productivité, selon un rapport

Déployé massivement pendant la pandémie de Covid-19, le télétravail peut stimuler sur le long terme la productivité des entreprises s'il continue à être aussi répandu, souligne le Conseil national de la productivité (CNP) dans un rapport publié au printemps dernier.

Le télé-travail pourrait doper la productivité, selon un rapport

Le télé-travail peut doper la productivité des entreprises selon le Conseil national de la productivité.

"À la différence de beaucoup d'autres crises antérieures qui conduisaient à un ralentissement de la productivité tendancielle, l'accélération du recours au télétravail lié à la crise sanitaire pourrait finalement aboutir à un gain durable de productivité" avance l'organisme rattaché à Matignon.

Une progression d'un point du pourcentage de salariés en télétravail "améliorerait en moyenne la productivité globale des facteurs d'environ 0,45%" écrivent les auteurs, qui se basent sur une étude de la Banque de France.

"En extrapolant ce résultat au niveau global de l'économie française, le passage de la proportion de télé-travailleurs d'environ 5% dans la période pré-Covid (4% de télé-travailleurs réguliers en 2019, NDLR) à 25% à plus long terme" engendrerait un gain moyen de productivité de 5 à 9%.

Mais attention, "il s'agit d'une première estimation, qui mériterait d'être confirmée par d'autres études une fois la situation de télé-travail stabilisée", avertit le CNP.

Dopé par la pandémie, le pourcentage de salariés en télé-travail a en effet fluctué au gré des confinements et des assouplissements de restrictions sanitaires.

"37% des salariés l'ont expérimenté, de manière régulière ou non, entre mars 2020 et janvier 2021", détaille le CNP.

Mais en novembre 2021, seuls 21% des salariés disaient travailler à distance au moins un jour par semaine.

Par ailleurs, il faut savoir doser le recours au télé-travail, souligne le CNP, afin "que ses effets positifs sur l'efficacité des travailleurs surpassent les pertes."

Télé-travail : "on ne peut pas dupliquer ce qu'il se passe d'une organisation à l'autre"

Comment prévenir le burn-out ?

Selon une enquête de l'OCDE citée par le rapport, la fréquence optimale du travail à distance se situerait "entre deux et trois jours par semaine".

Un mode de travail "hybride" qui complique la tâche des managers mis au défi de concilier les avantages du télétravail (réduction des coûts et des temps de trajet notamment) et leurs inconvénients (baisse des interactions entre salariés).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlapfuCEH3k&ab_channel=Offishall

Quels sont les jours les plus télé-travaillés de la semaine ?

"Le télé-travail doit pouvoir se faire ailleurs que chez soi."

Offishall est une solution de gestion de présence des collaborateurs qui a pour objectif d'accompagner les structures dans la mise en place du mode de travail hybride - alternance entre télé-travail et présentiel. L'entreprise permet chaque jour à des milliers d’utilisateurs de savoir qui est où quand et ainsi de (mieux) se retrouver au bureau.

La Rédaction

Le travail hybride à portée de main.

Notre équipe est disponible pour vous accompagner et répondre à toutes vos questions !

Essayer gratuitementDemander une démo