November 22, 2022
-
4 minutes

Remote working: countries that want to attract digital nomads

The pandemic has brought the tourism industry to a halt worldwide. Some countries are trying to remedy this by attracting digital nomads from all corners of the globe. From special visas to income tax exemptions, here is an overview of initiatives aimed at attracting (the wealthiest) international workers as the home office continues to grow. There could be a billion teleworkers in the world by 2035.

Remote working: countries that want to attract digital nomads

Estonia, first European country to regulate the stay of digital nomads

The country was the first European state to launch a visa specifically for foreign teleworkers. "Digital nomads and remote workers have long faced ambiguity when working while travelling, often circumventing the law, by practising while visiting a country on a tourist visa" according to the Estonian government website. Thus, as of 1 August 2020, the country offers self-employed people the possibility to live in Estonia for one year and work there legally. To be eligible for this new visa, several criteria must be met, including earning more than 3,500 euros per month and working for a non-Estonian organisation.

Note that visas for digital nomads (whether entrepreneurs, freelancers or employees of a foreign company teleworking) have also been introduced in the Czech Republic, Norway, Germany, Iceland, Portugal, Costa Rica, Mexico, Mauritius, Cayman Islands, Dubai and Barbados.

Croatia seeks to boost off-season tourism industry

Since the beginning of the year, the Croatians have been offering non-European teleworkers and their families a special digital nomad visa for up toone year. It is available to workers earning more than 2,200 euros per month and provides for income tax exemption. Teleworkers are not allowed to work for a local company. The aim is to boost tourism, particularly outside the high summer season.

Stays of up to 5 years in Spain

  • Madrid adopted last week several measures aimed at "recovering international and national talent" and favouring"the installation of teleworkers and digital nomads" according to the government. The authorities announced tax reductions and easier visa procedures. Digital nomads will be able to reside and work in Spain for 5 years, benefiting from anincome tax reduction. The measure will also apply to Spaniards who have lived abroad for more than five years and wish to return to Spain.
  • In general, the country is inclined to adopt new ways of organising work in order to bring more flexibility to employees. In 2022, Spain will experiment with a four-day week in 2,000 volunteer companies.

In Portugal, a unique legal arsenal for teleworkers

  • Portugal does not have a digital nomad visa as such, but the country has two different types of visas (or residence permits) that can be used as substitutes. The first, called the D7 visa, is for freelancers, self-employed people, retirees and property annuitants. The second type of visa is intended for entrepreneurs. The first formula, which is aimed at digital nomads (D7), allows volunteers to stay in Portugal for up to five years, after which the holder of the residence permit can apply for permanent residence or citizenship. To apply for this visa, the minimum income requirement is about 750 euros per month (equivalent to the Portuguese SMIC), which is the lowest salary requirement among other countries with an attractive policy for digital nomads.
  • The Portuguese archipelago of Madeira also opened this year the first digital village for digital nomads. It welcomes foreign teleworkers who have free access to Wi-Fi and coworking spaces. Volunteers can stay there for a minimum of one month. In response to the surge in demand, the authorities have announced the opening of five more telework centres by the end of the year.
  • It should also be noted that Portugal is becoming a paradise for remote workers. The country has adopted new rules favourable to employees working outside the office (notably aiming to protect their right to disconnect). The country thus aims to become "one of the best places in the world for digital nomads" according to the government.

Halfway between Asia and Europe, teleworking from Georgia

The "Remotely from Georgia" programme allows foreign teleworkers (from 95 countries) to stay for a minimum of six months. The scheme is open to people earning a salary of at least 1,670 euros per month. Halfway between Europe and Asia, this state of 3.7 million inhabitants where the cost of living is very low may represent an opportunity for foreign teleworkers in search of purchasing power.

Costa Rica or the Eldorado for teleworkers

Bordered by the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific, Costa Rica is the Eldorado for teleworkers. The country has enjoyed political stability and economic growth for several years. The tropical climate offers mild weather from December to April. The digital nomad visa is available to foreigners earning more than USD 3,000 per month and can last up to two years. The country has taken various measures to attract foreign teleworkers, who are exempt from paying income tax. The driving licence issued in the country of origin is also valid in Costa Rica. This is ideal for travelling around the country known for its beaches, volcanoes and biodiversity. With 20% of the population living below the poverty line, the influx of digital nomads into this Central American country has also been criticised by some observers as a new form of colonialism.

NB: Digital nomad visas issued in Europe have advantages for non-EU citizens. Apart from the health crisis, freedom of movement and residence is one of the principles of the 27 member countries of the European Union, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland and Norway, which belong to the Schengen area.

Edmée Citroën

Hybrid work at your fingertips.

Our team is available to help you and answer all your questions!

Try it for freeRequest a demo

November 22, 2022
-
4 minutes

Travail à distance : ces pays qui veulent attirer des digital nomades

La pandémie a mis un coup d'arrêt à l'industrie du tourisme dans le monde entier. Certains pays tentent d'y remédier en attirant les digital nomades des quatre coins du globe. Visas spéciaux ou encore exonération d'impôts sur le revenu, tour d'horizon des initiatives visant à séduire les travailleurs internationaux (les plus aisés), alors que le home-office poursuit son essor. La planète pourrait compter un milliard de télétravailleurs d'ici 2035.

Travail à distance : ces pays qui veulent attirer des digital nomades

L'Estonie, premier pays européen à avoir réglementé le séjour des digital nomades

Le pays a été le premier état européen à lancer un visa spécialement pour les télétravailleurs étrangers. "Les nomades numériques et les travailleurs à distance sont depuis longtemps confrontés à l'ambiguïté lorsqu'ils travaillent pendant qu'ils voyagent, contournant souvent la loi, en exerçant tout en visitant un pays avec un visa touristique" selon le site du gouvernement estonien. C'est ainsi que depuis le 1er août 2020, le pays offre aux travailleurs indépendants la possibilité de vivre un an en Estonie et d'y travailler légalement. Pour être éligible à ce nouveau visa, il faut remplir plusieurs critères, notamment gagner plus de 3 500 euros par mois et travailler pour une organisation non-estonienne.

Notez que les visas visant à accueillir les digital nomades (qu'ils soient entrepreneurs, freelances ou encore salariés d'une entreprise étrangère en télétravail) ont également été mis en place en République Tchèque, Norvège, Allemagne, Islande, Portugal, Costa Rica, Mexique, Île Maurice, Îles Caïman, Dubaï ou encore sur l'Île de La Barbade.

La Croatie cherche à stimuler l'industrie du tourisme hors-saison

Depuis le début de l'année, les croates proposent aux télétravailleurs non-européens et à leur famille un visa spécial digital nomades d'une durée maximale d'un an. Il est accessible aux travailleurs gagnant plus de 2 200 euros par mois et prévoit une exonération d'impôt sur le revenu. Les télétravailleurs ne sont pas autorisés à exercer pour une entreprise locale. Objectif, dynamiser le tourisme et ce notamment hors de la haute-saison estivale.

Des séjours allant jusqu'à 5 ans en Espagne

  • Madrid a adopté la semaine dernière plusieurs mesures visant à "récupérer les talents internationaux et nationaux" et favoriser "l’installation des télétravailleurs et des nomades numériques" selon le gouvernement. Les autorités ont annoncé des réductions d'impôts et des démarches facilitées pour l'obtention d'un visa. Les digital nomades pourront résider et travailler en Espagne pendant 5 ans, en profitant d'une réduction de l'impôt sur le revenu. La mesure s'appliquera également aux Espagnols installés à l'étranger depuis plus de cinq ans et souhaitant revenir en Espagne.
  • De manière générale, le pays est enclin à l'adoption de nouveaux modes d'organisation du travail visant à amener plus de flexibilité aux collaborateurs. En 2022, l'Espagne expérimentera la semaine de quatre jours dans 2 00 entreprises volontaires.

Au Portugal, un arsenal juridique hors du commun pour les télétravailleurs

  • Le Portugal ne propose pas à proprement parler de visa digital nomades, mais le pays dispose de deux différents types de visas (ou permis de séjour) qui peuvent s'y substituer. Le premier, baptisé visa D7 concerne les freelances, indépendants, retraités ou encore rentiers immobiliers. Le deuxième type de visa est destiné aux entrepreneurs. La première formule qui s'adresse aux digital nomades (D7) permet aux volontaires de séjourner jusqu'à cinq ans au Portugal, période au terme de laquelle le titulaire du permis de séjour peut demander la résidence permanente ou la citoyenneté. Pour demander ce visa, le revenu minimal exigé est d'environ 750 euros par mois (équivalent du SMIC portugais) c'est l'exigence salariale la plus basse parmi les autres pays ayant une politique attractive pour les digital nomades.
  • L'archipel portugais de Madère a aussi ouvert cette année le premier village numérique pour digital nomades. Il accueille des télétravailleurs étrangers qui disposent d'un accès gratuit au Wi-Fi et aux espaces de coworking. Les volontaires peuvent y séjourner pour un mois minimum. Face à l'afflux de demandes, les autorités ont annoncé ouvrir cinq nouveaux centres de télétravail supplémentaires d'ici à la fin de l'année.
  • Notez par ailleurs que l'état portugais est en passe de devenir le paradis des travailleurs à distance. Le pays a adopté de nouvelles règles favorables aux salariés travaillant hors du bureau (visant notamment à protéger leur droit à la déconnexion). Le pays ambitionne ainsi de devenir "l'un des meilleurs endroits au monde pour les nomades numériques" selon le gouvernement.

À mi-chemin entre Asie et Europe, télétravailler depuis la Géorgie

Le programme "Remotely from Georgia" permet aux télétravailleurs étrangers (issus de 95 pays) d'y séjourner six mois minimum. La formule est accessible aux personnes percevant un salaire d'au moins 1 670 euros mensuels. A mi-chemin entre l'Europe et l'Asie, cet état de 3,7 millions d'habitants où le coût de la vie est très bas peut représenter une opportunité pour les télétravailleurs étrangers en quête de pouvoir d'achat.

Le Costa Rica ou l'eldorado des télétravailleurs

Bordé par la mer des Caraïbes et le Pacifique, le Costa Rica est l'eldorado des télétravailleurs. Le pays jouit d'une stabilité politique et d'une croissance économique depuis plusieurs années.  Le climat tropical offre une météo clémente de décembre à avril. Accessible aux personnes étrangères percevant un revenu supérieur à 3 000 dollars par mois, le visa digital nomades peut durer jusqu'à deux ans. Le pays a pris différentes mesures visant à attirer les télétravailleurs étrangers qui jouissent d'une exonération de l'impôt sur le revenu. Le permis de conduire délivré dans le pays d'origine est aussi valide au Costa Rica. Idéal pour sillonner le pays connu pour ses plages, ses volcans et sa biodiversité. Alors que 20 % de la population vit sous le seuil de la pauvreté, l'afflux de digital nomades dans ce pays centraméricain suscite aussi la critique, certains observateurs y voient une nouvelle forme de colonialisme.

NB : Les visas digital nomades délivrés en Europe présentent des avantages pour les citoyens non-européens. Hors crise sanitaire, la liberté de circuler et de séjourner constitue l'un des principes des 27 pays membres de l'Union Européenne, auxquels il faut ajouter l'Islande, le Liechtenstein, la Suisse et la Norvège, qui appartiennent à l'espace Schengen.

Edmée Citroën

Le travail hybride à portée de main.

Notre équipe est disponible pour vous accompagner et répondre à toutes vos questions !

Essayer gratuitementDemander une démo