November 22, 2022
-
2 minutes

Heatwave and teleworking: to what extent should employers protect their employees?

As a heatwave sweeps across France this week, Offishall's editorial team looks at the obligations of companies towards employees who work from home. Employers need to ensure that employees are well looked after and that they are working both in the office and remotely.

Heatwave and teleworking: to what extent should employers protect their employees?

Heatwave: who should protect the teleworking employee?

Heat stroke, exhaustion, dehydration... To prevent employees from being exposed to the harmful effects of high temperatures, employers must take into consideration the "thermal environment" according to the Labour Code, with a whole series of recommendations. The sectors most exposed to risk, such as construction and agricultural work, are regularly subject to targeted checks, as the Ministry of Labour reminded us again at the beginning of June.

Employers must give preference to remote work during heatwaves

Staggered working hours, more frequent breaks, generally speaking, the employer must "limit the exposure of workers to high temperatures" and "give preference to teleworking where possible".

They must "ensure that the wearing of personal protective equipment is compatible with high temperatures", "control the proper renewal of air and monitor the temperature of the premises", and provide employees with "means of protection against high temperatures or cooling".

How should the employer protect the employee in the event of a heat wave?
The employer has a responsibility to look after the working conditions of employees, whether they are teleworking or working face-to-face.

What about the protection of remote employees?

According to employment lawyer Eric Rocheblave, the same rules apply for telework and face-to-face work because there are no specific provisions in the Labour Code.

"If you get sick at home while teleworking because of the heat because your accommodation is not suitable, it will be considered an accident at work," he says.

"The employer has a responsibility to take care of the working conditions in telework The employer has a responsibility to look after the working conditions,just like in the office", he insists. It is therefore up to the employer to ensure that the employee has fresh accommodation, a fan or air conditioning, especially for 100% remote employees who cannot use the company's facilities.

Although the Labour Code does not indicate any temperature above which it is no longer possible to work, the Caisse Nationale de l'Assurance Maladie des Travailleurs Salariés (CNAMTS) recommends evacuating employees working in offices above an ambient temperature of 34°C.

Offishall is an employee presence management solution that aims to support organizations in the implementation of the hybrid work mode - alternating between telework and face-to-face. Every day, the company allows thousands of users to know who is where when and therefore to find their way around the office (better). The Offishall Planning tool contributes to boosting the attractiveness of the structures by helping them to take up the great HR challenge of the decade: that of work flexibility.

The Editor

Hybrid work at your fingertips.

Our team is available to help you and answer all your questions!

Try it for freeRequest a demo

November 22, 2022
-
2 minutes

Canicule et télétravail : dans quelle mesure l’employeur doit-il protéger ses collaborateurs ?

Alors qu'une vague de chaleur déferle cette semaine sur toute la France, la rédaction d'Offishall s'intéresse aux obligations des entreprises vis-à-vis des collaborateurs qui travaillent depuis leur domicile. Les employeurs doivent s’assurer des conditions matérielles des salariés et ce qu’ils exercent au bureau, comme à distance.

Canicule et télétravail : dans quelle mesure l’employeur doit-il protéger ses collaborateurs ?

Canicule : qui doit protéger le collaborateur en télétravail ?

Coup de chaleur, épuisement, déshydratation... Pour éviter que les salariés ne soient exposés aux effets néfastes des fortes chaleurs, les employeurs doivent prendre en considération les "ambiances thermiques" selon le Code du travail, avec à la clef toute une série de recommandations. Les secteurs les plus exposés aux risques, comme le BTP et les travaux agricoles font régulièrement l'objet de contrôles ciblés comme l'a encore rappelé le ministère du Travail début juin.

L’employeur doit privilégier le remote en période de canicule

Horaires décalés, pauses plus fréquentes, d’une manière générale, l'employeur doit "limiter l'exposition des travailleurs aux fortes chaleurs" et "privilégier le télétravail lorsque cela est possible".

Il doit "s'assurer que le port des protections individuelles est compatible avec les fortes chaleurs", "contrôler le bon renouvellement de l'air et surveiller la température des locaux", et fournir aux salariés "des moyens de protection contre les fortes chaleurs ou de rafraîchissement".

Comment l'employeur doit-il protéger le collaborateur en cas de canicule ?
L'employeur a la responsabilité de se préoccuper des conditions de travail des collaborateurs, en télétravail comme en présentiel.

Quid de la protection des collaborateurs à distance ?

Selon l'avocat spécialiste du droit du travail Eric Rocheblave, les mêmes règles s'appliquent pour le télétravail et le présentiel car il n'y a pas de dispositions spécifiques dans le Code du travail.

"Si vous faites un malaise chez vous en télétravail à cause de la chaleur parce que votre logement n'est pas adapté, ce sera considéré comme un accident du travail", souligne-t-il.

"L'employeur a la responsabilité de se préoccuper des conditions de travail en télétravail comme en présentiel", insiste-t-il. A lui donc de s'assurer que le salarié bénéficie d'un logement frais, d'un ventilateur ou de la climatisation notamment pour les salariés 100% remote qui ne peuvent bénéficier des équipements de l'entreprise.

Si le Code du travail n'indique aucune température au-delà de laquelle il n'est plus possible de travailler, la Caisse Nationale de l'Assurance Maladie des Travailleurs Salariés (CNAMTS) préconise l'évacuation des salariés travaillant dans des bureaux au-delà d'une température ambiante de 34°.

Offishall est une solution de gestion de présence des collaborateurs qui a pour objectif d'accompagner les structures dans la mise en place du mode de travail hybride - alternance entre télé-travail et présentiel. L'entreprise permet chaque jour à des milliers d’utilisateurs de savoir qui est où quand et donc de (mieux) se retrouver au bureau. L'outil Offishall Planning contribue à booster l'attractivité des structures en les aidant à relever le grand défi RH de la décennie : celui de la flexibilité du travail.

La Rédaction

Le travail hybride à portée de main.

Notre équipe est disponible pour vous accompagner et répondre à toutes vos questions !

Essayer gratuitementDemander une démo