November 22, 2022
-
2 minutes

Telework: preconceived ideas and career development

Find out what you shouldn't have missed in the news about hybrid work over the last fortnight.

Telework: preconceived ideas and career development

5 misconceptions about telework

Inequality, disengagement, lack of visibility: the problems of telework pre-existed the widespread use of remote working, says this Washington Post article, which calls on companies "tolearn how to use telework properly".

Written by Karla L. Miller, the article deconstructs the prejudices linked to remote work: Received idea number 1: remote work makes management and performance measurement more complex. Wrong, according to the journalist, who believes that managers must be trained and oriented towards a culture of results, not presenteeism.

Misconception number 2: the most committed workers choose to go to the office, those who choose to telework are less motivated and/or lazier. Several studies show that employees work more (and better) from home. The journalist points out the unnecessary nuisances and performance expectations in organisations: commuting, early arrival times, dress code requirements for wearing ties/high heels, and weekly meetings without an agenda, all of which she believes undermine employee engagement.

Managers: the next world is now!

Two years after the start of the pandemic, "managers are faced with major challenges, not only human, but also technological and societal" writes Muriel Jasor in Les Echos. Among these challenges, we find the need for managers to connect employees to each other / manage their presence in hybrid mode. Other major challenges include learning to delegate and developing soft skills, which are more necessary than ever to manage remotely.

Hybrid: how do you climb the career ladder when you're in the office less than you used to be?

Published in the New York Times, this paper questions the ways in which career development can occur in an era when the physical office is no longer an everyday occurrence. The traditional opportunities for networking, mentoring and visibility in the workplace are becoming increasingly rare.

In this context, how can employees move up the ladder in hybrid mode? The article recommends pairing remote workers with mentors from outside their department, so that they can express themselves without jeopardising team relationships.

Offishall is an employee presence management solution that aims to support organizations in the implementation of the hybrid work mode - alternating between telework and face-to-face. Every day, the company allows thousands of users to know who is where when and therefore to find their way around the office (better). The Offishall Planning tool contributes to boosting the attractiveness of the structures by helping them to take up the great HR challenge of the decade: that of work flexibility.

Edmée Citroën

Hybrid work at your fingertips.

Our team is available to help you and answer all your questions!

Try it for freeRequest a demo

November 22, 2022
-
2 minutes

Télétravail : idées reçues et évolution de carrière

Retrouvez ce qu'il ne fallait pas manquer dans l'actualité du travail hybride ces quinze derniers jours.

Télétravail : idées reçues et évolution de carrière

5 idées reçues sur le télétravail

Inégalités, désengagement, manque de visibilité : les problèmes posés par le travail à distance pré-existaient avant la généralisation du remote nous enseigne ce papier du Washington Post, qui invite les entreprises “à apprendre à utiliser le télétravail correctement.”

Signé par Karla L. Miller, l’article déconstruit les préjugés liés au distanciel :Idée reçue numéro 1 : le remote complexifie le management et la mesure de la performance. Faux selon la journaliste pour qui les managers doivent être formés et orientés vers une culture du résultat et non du présentéisme.

Idée reçue numéro 2 : les travailleurs les plus engagés choisissent d’aller au bureau, ceux qui optent pour le télétravail sont moins motivés et/ou plus paresseux. Plusieurs études démontrent que les collaborateurs travaillent plus (et mieux) de chez eux. La journaliste pointe du doigt les nuisances et attentes inutiles à la performance dans les structures : trajet, heure d’arrivée précoce, injonctions vestimentaires liée au port de cravates / talons hauts, ou encore réunions hebdomadaires sans ordre du jour; des éléments qui selon elle sapent l'engagement des collaborateurs.

Managers : le monde d’après, c’est maintenant !

Deux ans après le début de la pandémie, “les managers sont confrontés à de gros défis non seulement humains, mais aussi technologiques et sociétaux” écrit Muriel Jasor dans Les Echos. Parmi ces challenges, on retrouve la nécessité pour les managers de connecter les salariés entre eux / gérer leur présence en mode hybride. Autres chantiers de taille, apprendre à déléguer mais aussi développer les softs skills, plus que jamais nécessaires pour manager en distanciel.

Hybride : comment gravir les échelons de carrière quand on est moins souvent au bureau qu’avant ?

Publié dans le New York Times, ce papier interroge les modalités d’évolution de carrière à l’ère où le bureau physique n’est plus quotidien. Se raréfient donc les opportunités traditionnelles de réseautage, de mentorat et de visibilité dans les espaces de travail.

Dans ce contexte, comment les collaborateurs peuvent-ils gravir les échelons en mode hybride ?  L’article recommande notamment de jumeler les travailleurs à distance avec des mentors extérieurs à leur service, afin qu'ils puissent s’exprimer sans mettre en danger les relations d'équipe.

Offishall est une solution de gestion de présence des collaborateurs qui a pour objectif d'accompagner les structures dans la mise en place du mode de travail hybride - alternance entre télé-travail et présentiel. L'entreprise permet chaque jour à des milliers d’utilisateurs de savoir qui est où quand et donc de (mieux) se retrouver au bureau. L'outil Offishall Planning contribue à booster l'attractivité des structures en les aidant à relever le grand défi RH de la décennie : celui de la flexibilité du travail.

Edmée Citroën

Le travail hybride à portée de main.

Notre équipe est disponible pour vous accompagner et répondre à toutes vos questions !

Essayer gratuitementDemander une démo