November 22, 2022
-
2 minutes

Long live the holidays, the "quiche lorraine" effect and the mastery of the French language

Every week Offishall reads the press and scours the articles related to hybrid work. Here's our pick of the top three pieces of content over the past seven days.

Long live the holidays, the "quiche lorraine" effect and the mastery of the French language

Every week, Offishall reads the press and scours the articles related to hybrid work. Here's our pick of the top three pieces of content over the past seven days:

Teleworking promotes holidays

The All Saints' Day holidays are not usually a crucial period for tourism professionals. But this year the sector is in full swing and this is obviously due to the boom in teleworking, whether or not mixed with days off, as we learn from this article in Le Figaro. As regards the most popular destinations for these (tele)holidaymakers, the overseas territories are recording almost 200% more bookings than in 2019 on the Pap.fr website. Rural areas are also benefiting from this trend with +125% of bookings in the countryside. If remote working from a holiday location is taking off, it can be facilitated by setting up availability schedules within the day; an issue explored in the second article that caught our attention this week:

The "quiche lorraine" effect or reframed availability in telework

Telework is a new phenomenon:"the distinction between "working hours" and "availability periods" within them ", as stated in this column published in Le Monde. Signed by the academic Jean-Emmanuel Ray, this text tells us about the existence of certain telework agreements providing for time slots of availability within the day. An example is the Garance company, which offers a formula whereby the employee can"interrupt his or her work to pursue personal interests from 7 a.m. to 9:30 a.m., and then from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m.: ideal for school or preparing quiche lorraine, the maximum daily span of thirteen hours being respected", says the columnist. A formula that undoubtedly allows the company to avoid the legal uncertainty surrounding possible (tele)work accidents, at a time when many organisations are wondering about employee insurance when they are working remotely; if they injure themselves while mowing their lawn during working hours, who will pay for their accident?
The Club Med agreement also provides that " in consultation with the employee, the manager will set the time slots during which he or she may contact the employee. During these periods, the employee will be under the subordination of the employer and will not be able to go about his or her personal business. The author concludes with a convoluted formulation of what he considers to be "the fundamental problem" of this availability - making a diversion into the inequality between white and blue collar workers in the face of distance work. In his opinion, the key to the success of telework lies in a management of trust, and especially not in restrictive rules that are out of step with the desires and needs of teleworkers. He points to "the increasing unsuitability of Taylorian rules denying any autonomy to manual workers in factories, to knowledge workers in their homes, where only trust can avoid gas plants with double inverted pipes".

Teleworking: recruiters more attentive to French language skills

The rise of teleworking has favoured written communications, leading to a growing awareness among managers and recruiters: more than three quarters of French employers say they are confronted with spelling and grammatical errors every day. The Ipsos study reported in Les Echos reveals that mistakes are "prohibitive for a large majority of employers, both in writing and speaking. This requirement "has increased with the pandemic and the generalisation of teleworking: at a distance and in writing, clarity of expression is a must", the article states. To the extent that the quality of spelling and expression of candidates is now in the top five recruitment criteria for a majority of HR managers. The journalist Anna Lippert points out that mistakes in expression are also an obstacle to promotion. Finally, for the overwhelming majority of recruiters, these shortcomings can be detrimental to customer relations in addition to affecting the company's productivity.

Edmée Citroën

Hybrid work at your fingertips.

Our team is available to help you and answer all your questions!

Try it for freeRequest a demo

Vive les vacances, l'effet "quiche lorraine" et la maîtrise de la langue française

Chaque semaine, Offishall lit la presse et épluche les articles liés au travail hybride. Voici notre podium des trois contenus immanquables ces sept derniers jours.

December 9, 2021
2 minutes

Chaque semaine, Offishall lit la presse et épluche les articles liés au travail hybride. Voici notre podium des trois contenus immanquables ces sept derniers jours :

Le télétravail favorise les vacances

Les vacances de la Toussaint ne sont habituellement pas une période cruciale pour les professionnels du tourisme. Mais cette année le secteur bat son plein et ce évidemment du fait de l'essor du télétravail, mixé ou non avec des jours de congés, nous apprend ce papier du Figaro. En ce qui concerne les destinations les plus prisées de ces (télé) vacanciers, l'outre-mer enregistre près de 200% de réservation supplémentaire par rapport à 2019 sur le site Pap.fr. Les zones rurales profitent aussi de cette tendance avec +125% de réservation à la campagne. Si le travail distanciel depuis un lieu de vacances connaît un envol, il peut être facilité par la mise en place d'horaires de disponibilité au sein de la journée; question explorée dans le deuxième article ayant retenu notre attention cette semaine :

L’effet « quiche lorraine » ou la disponibilité recadrée en télétravail

Car du télétravail découle cette nouveauté : "la distinction entre les « horaires de travail » et au sein de ceux-ci les « plages de joignabilité »" énonce cette chronique parue dans Le Monde. Signé par l'universitaire Jean-Emmanuel Ray, ce texte nous apprend l'existence de certains accords de télétravail prévoyant des plages horaires de disponibilité au sein de la journée.  Exemple avec l’entreprise Garance qui propose une formule grâce à laquelle le salarié peut "interrompre son travail pour vaquer à des occupations personnelles de 7 heures à 9 h 30, puis de 16 heures à 20 heures : idéal pour l’école ou la préparation de la quiche lorraine, l’amplitude journalière maximum de treize heures étant respectée" avance le chroniqueur. Une formule qui permet sans doute à l'entreprise d'éviter le flou juridique autour de l'éventuel accident du (télé)travail, à une période où de nombreuses structures s'interrogent sur l'assurance du salarié lorsqu'il est en distanciel; s'il se blesse en tondant sa pelouse pendant ses horaires de travail, qui prend en charge son accident ?
L'accord du Club Med, prévoit lui aussi qu'en "concertation avec le salarié, le manager fixe les plages horaires durant lesquelles il pourra le contacter. Pendant ces plages, le salarié sera sous la subordination de l’employeur et ne pourra vaquer à ses occupations personnelles."  L'auteur conclue en évoquant par une formule alambiquée ce qu'il considère être "le problème de fond" de cette disponibilité - en faisant un détour par l'inégalité entre cols blancs et bleus face au distanciel. Selon lui, la clé de la réussite du télétravail se niche dans un management de la confiance et ne passe surtout pas par des règles contraignantes et peu en phase avec les envies et besoins des télétravailleurs. Ainsi il pointe du doigt "l’inadaptation croissante de règles tayloriennes déniant toute autonomie au travailleur manuel en usine, à des travailleurs du savoir à leur domicile, où seule la confiance permet d’éviter les usines à gaz à double tubulure inversée."

Télétravail : les recruteurs, plus attentifs à la maîtrise du français

L'essor du télétravail a favorisé les communications écrites, faisant émerger une prise de conscience chez les dirigeants et recruteurs : Plus des trois quarts des employeurs français affirment être chaque jour confrontés à des fautes d'orthographe et de grammaire. L'étude Ipsos relayée dans les Echos révèle que les fautes sont "rédhibitoires pour une large majorité des employeurs, à l'écrit comme à l'oral." Cette exigence "s'est accrue avec la pandémie et la généralisation du télétravail : à distance et par écrit, la clarté de l'expression est de mise" peut-on lire dans cet article. Au point que la qualité de l'orthographe et de l'expression des candidats figurent désormais dans le top 5 des critères de recrutement pour une majorité de responsables RH. Les fautes d'expression sont aussi un frein à la promotion, souligne la journaliste Anna Lippert. Enfin, pour l'écrasante majorité des recruteurs, ces lacunes peuvent porter préjudice à la relation client en plus d'affecter la productivité de l'entreprise.

Edmée Citroën