November 22, 2022
-
4 minutes

Great resignation of women and great pain of young people

Every week, Offishall reads the press and scours the articles related to hybrid work. Here is our selection of the three most important pieces of content of the last seven days.

Great resignation of women and great pain of young people

The Great American Resignation is partly about women

Nearly 4.5 million Americans quit their jobs in August, according to official figures. 20 months after the start of the pandemic, the Great Quit in the United States is due to a number of reasons. During the course of the confinements, workers have had time to question their working lives, particularly with regard to the lack of flexibility in their jobs. This introspection has sometimes led them to change their life, their orientation, their job or even to go back to school for the younger ones. The more senior employees have taken advantage of this to take early retirement. This explains the origins of the Big Quit in the autumn of 2021.

But for Guardian journalist Moira Donegan, the haemorrhage of American workers is partly due to "the expulsion of women from the labour market", a phenomenon that already existed before the pandemic and was greatly accelerated by the health crisis.

During the covid, "women women left the labour market twice as fast than men; their representation in the workforce is at its lowest for more than 30 years," reads the Guardian. No less edifying is the news that a third of working mothers have reduced or left their jobs since March 2020. The current labour shortage is hitting female-dominated sectors such as hospitality, sales and health hard. This is due to the fact that schools have been closed for long periods or intermittently since the start of the pandemic, forcing women to look after their children in a context where the cost of childcare is very high. Moira Donegan points to the imbalance between the low wages earned by women (who are over-represented in low-paying sectors) and the scarcity and high cost of childcare, which is said to be driving women out of work.

The painful integration of young newcomers into the (tele)labour market.

While women are the biggest losers in the pandemic-related changes in the labour market, young people are also victims of the rise of telecommuting. This article in the New York Times discusses the pitfalls of 100% telecommuting for young, newly hired employees. The main message could be summarised in the following extract: "flexible work - without support - can harm employees the most inexperienced employees of an organisation." By joining a company and a team remotely, the employee does not acquire non-technical skills, such as socialisation or trust, the article explains. The reduction or even elimination of informal exchanges also crowds out learning for young recruits, who cannot freely ask questions of other employees in a light-hearted and impromptu manner. In this context, work quickly becomes entirely transactional, limited to "exchanging information in pursuit of an immediate goal", as described by a young woman interviewed by the two authors of the text, Anne Helen Petersen and Charlie Warzel, co-authors of the book in progress "Out of office", from which the forum is adapted.

"Gossip, chit-chat, after-work drinks and even body language help teach new employees the norms of office behaviour. These elements are far more valuable than any company manual."

The bottom line is that in order to better onboard new recruits remotely, companies must first and foremost address the problem caused by distance learning (e.g. by creating mentoring programmes to help younger recruits learn remotely when they join the company). New recruits need coaching, guidance and support.

Banks are embracing telework in a sustainable way.

These are big structures, difficult to manoeuvre, old brands, known to the general public and whose management is not necessarily very modern. However, the major French banks have taken the turn towards teleworking and flexibility, explains this article in Le Figaro. The majority of them have all "reinforced the organisation of remote work in recent months, with rules often more flexible than in other sectors", the article states. At Crédit Agricole, employees can telework up to 84 days a year, or up to 40% of their working time. As for BNP Paribas, "from now on, 90% of the group's employees in France can work from home half the time. Société Générale offers its employees the opportunity to work remotely two days a week. While the banking sector is trying to define common rules and is working on a branch agreement, the insurance sector reached an agreement at the beginning of the month.

The widespread use of distance learning in the service sector is not without consequences for certain industries, which are suffering from these changes as a domino effect. Deserted on average two days a week, office canteens are multiplying innovations to resist the crisis that is affecting them, as explained in this article published in Les Echos this week.

Edmée Citroën

Hybrid work at your fingertips.

Our team is available to help you and answer all your questions!

Try it for freeRequest a demo

November 22, 2022
-
4 minutes

Grande Démission des femmes et grande douleur des jeunes

Chaque semaine, Offishall lit la presse et épluche les articles liés au travail hybride. Voici notre sélection des trois contenus immanquables ces sept derniers jours.

Grande Démission des femmes et grande douleur des jeunes

La Grande Démission américaine est en partie celle des femmes

Près de 4,5 millions d'américains ont quitté leur emploi au mois d'août d'après les chiffres officiels. 20 mois après le début de la pandémie, la Grande Démission qui sévit aux Etats-Unis s'explique par différentes raisons. Au fil des confinements, les travailleurs ont eu le temps de remettre en cause leur vie professionnelle notamment au regard du manque de souplesse et de flexibilité de leur travail. Cette introspection les a parfois mené à changer de vie, d'orientation, de métier ou encore à reprendre des études pour les plus jeunes. Les employés plus seniors en ont profité pour partir en retraite anticipée. C'est ainsi que l'on explique les origines de Grande Démission à l'automne 2021.

Mais pour la journaliste du Guardian Moira Donegan, l'hémorragie de travailleurs américains est en partie du à "l'expulsion des femmes du marché du travail", un phénomène déjà existant pré-pandémie et largement accéléré avec la crise sanitaire.

Pendant le covid, "les femmes ont quitté le marché du travail deux fois plus vite que les hommes ; leur représentation au sein de la population active est à son niveau le plus bas depuis plus de 30 ans" peut-on lire dans le Guardian. Non moins édifiant, on apprend qu'un tiers des mères actives ont réduit ou quitté leur emploi depuis mars 2020. C'est ainsi que la pénurie de main d'oeuvre actuelle touche durement les secteurs très féminins, que sont l'hôtellerie, la vente, ou encore la santé. En cause, la fermeture durable ou intermittente des écoles depuis le début de la pandémie, qui a forcé les femmes à s'occuper de leurs enfants, dans un contexte où le prix des garderies est très élevé. Moira Donegan pointe du doigt le déséquilibre entre les bas salaires perçus par les femmes (sur-représentées dans les secteurs peu rémunérateurs) et les solutions de gardes d'enfants rares et chères qui pousserait les femmes à ne plus travailler.

La douloureuse intégration des jeunes arrivants sur le marché du (télé)travail.

Si les femmes sont les grandes perdantes des changements liés à la pandémie sur le marché du travail, les jeunes sont aussi victimes de l'essor du distanciel. Parue dans le New York Times, cette tribune évoque les dérives du 100% télétravail pour les jeunes employés nouvellement embauchés. Le message principal pourrait se résumer par l'extrait suivant : "le travail flexible - en l'absence d'accompagnement - peut nuire aux employés les plus inexpérimentés d'une organisation." En intégrant une entreprise et une équipe à distance, le collaborateur n'acquiert pas de compétences non-techniques nous explique cet article, comme la socialisation ou encore la confiance. La réduction voire la suppression des échanges informels évince aussi l'apprentissage des jeunes recrues, qui ne peuvent pas librement poser de questions aux autres collaborateurs de manière légère et impromptue. Dans ce contexte, le travail devient vite entièrement transactionnel, se limitant à « échanger des informations dans la poursuite d'un objectif immédiat », comme le décrit une jeune femme interrogée par les deux auteurs du texte, Anne Helen Petersen et Charlie Warzel, co-auteurs du livre en court d'écriture "Out of office" dont la tribune est adaptée.

"Les commérages, bavardages, pots après le travail et même le langage corporel contribuent à apprendre aux nouveaux employés les normes de comportement au bureau. Ces éléments sont bien plus précieux que n'importe quel manuel d'entreprise."

Moralité, pour mieux onboarder les jeunes recrues à distance, les entreprises doivent avant tout se saisir du problème causé par le distanciel et y répondre (en créant par exemple des programmes de mentorat pour aider les plus jeunes à se former à distance quand ils entrent en poste). Les nouvelles recrues ont besoin d'encadrement, d'orientation et d'accompagnement.

Les banques adoptent durablement le télétravail.

Ce sont des grosses structures, difficiles à manoeuvrer, des marques anciennes,  connues du grand public et dont on s'imagine que le management n'est pas forcément d'une grande modernité. Pourtant, les grandes banques françaises ont pris le virage du télétravail et de la flexibilité, nous explique cet article paru dans le Figaro. Elles ont toutes en majorité "renforcé ces derniers mois l’organisation du travail à distance, avec des règles souvent plus flexibles que dans d’autres secteurs" peut-on lire dans ce papier. Au Crédit Agricole, les salariés peuvent être en télétravail jusqu'a 84 jours par an, soit jusqu'à 40% de leur temps de travail. Quant à la BNP Paribas "désormais, 90 % des effectifs du groupe en France peuvent travailler depuis chez eux la moitié du temps." La Société Générale propose à ses salariés de travailler à distance deux jours par semaine. Si le secteur de la banque cherche à définir des règles communes et planche sur un accord de branche, le monde de l'assurance y est parvenu au début du mois.

La généralisation du distanciel dans le secteur tertiaire n'est pas sans conséquence sur certains industries qui pâtissent de ces changements par effet domino. Désertées en moyenne deux jours par semaine, les cantines de bureaux multiplient les innovations pour résister à la crise qui les touche, comme l'explique cet article paru dans Les Echos cette semaine.

Edmée Citroën

Le travail hybride à portée de main.

Notre équipe est disponible pour vous accompagner et répondre à toutes vos questions !

Essayer gratuitementDemander une démo