November 22, 2022
-
1 minute

Recruitment difficulties, legal problems with teleworking and falling down the stairs

Find out what you shouldn't have missed in the news about hybrid work over the last two weeks.

Recruitment difficulties, legal problems with teleworking and falling down the stairs

The mysteries of the Great French Resignation: how to explain recruitment difficulties

Signed by several academics specialising in human resources and management, this paper published in the magazine The Conversation (and then picked up by the JDD and Maddyness) explores the phenomenon of the Great French Resignation. The trend is not new, the authors tell us, as the recruitment shortage was there before the pandemic. The main lesson is that employees are questioning the moral and social pact proposed by companies, notably because of teleworking, ecology and de-unionisation. We also learn that in the energy sector, bakers and beauticians are being recruited as operators to make up for the lack of manpower.

Teleworking: he falls down the stairs, the court concludes that it was an accident at work

This is the story of a man who wakes up and leaves his room to go to his office on the lower floor to work from home. Badaboum, he falls down the stairs and fractures a thoracic vertebra. Was this an accident at work or not? The German courts said yes last week, considering it to be an accident on the way to and from work. The information was reported in various media, including Capital. This event raises the ambiguities of insurance for teleworkers.

In the United States, the legal imbroglio for the management of remote employees depending on the state

This article on the Reuters website discusses the legal framework for telework in the US, which varies from state to state. Several issues are addressed by the authors of the paper, Mark Goldstein and Saranne Weimer, both US employment lawyers:

How to ensure that overtime is counted and paid for employees who are eligible to telework? Small tasks performed outside the shift should be taken into account by the employer, the authors tell us, as should answering e-mails or calls outside the working day.

Other questions are: to which law is the teleworker operating from a different state from the office location subject? And by extension, to what tax policy?

But also, how does the employer pay for telecommuting expenses in different states? While California requires companies to reimburse expenses incurred by telecommuting employees, other jurisdictions are silent or unclear on this issue.

Edmée Citroën

Hybrid work at your fingertips.

Our team is available to help you and answer all your questions!

Try it for freeRequest a demo

Difficultés de recrutement, problèmes juridiques liés au télétravail et chute dans l’escalier

Retrouvez ce qu’il ne fallait pas manquer dans l’actualité du travail hybride ces deux dernières semaines.

December 21, 2021
1 minute

Les mystères de la Grande Démission à la française : comment expliquer les difficultés de recrutement

Signé par plusieurs universitaires spécialisés dans les ressources humaines et le management, ce papier paru dans la revue The conversation (puis repris par le JDD et Maddyness) explore le phénomène de Grande Démission à la française. La tendance n’est pas nouvelle, nous disent les auteurs car la pénurie de recrutement était là avant la pandémie. L’enseignement principal est le suivant : les salariés remettent en cause le pacte moral et social proposé par les entreprises et ce notamment du fait du télétravail, de l’écologie ou encore de la désyndicalisation.L’on apprend aussi que dans le secteur de l’énergie, on recrute des boulangers et esthéticiennes aux postes d’opérateurs pour palier le manque de main d’oeuvre.

Télétravail : il tombe dans son escalier, la justice conclut à un accident de travail

C’est l’histoire d’un homme qui au réveil quitte sa chambre pour rejoindre son bureau installé à l’étage inférieur afin d’y télétravailler. Badaboum, il tombe dans l’escalier et se fracture une vertèbre thoracique. Est-ce ou non un accident du travail ? La justice allemande a répondu oui, la semaine dernière, considérant qu’il s’agissait d’un accident de trajet domicile-travail. L’information a été relatée dans différents médias dont Capital. Cet évènement soulève les ambigüités assurantielles concernant les télétravailleurs.

Aux Etats-Unis, l’imbroglio juridique pour la gestion des employés à distance selon les états

Cet article paru sur le site de Reuters évoque le sujet du cadre juridique du télétravail outre-Atlantique, qui varie selon les états. Plusieurs problématiques sont abordées par les auteurs du papier, Mark Goldstein et Saranne Weimer tous deux avocats en droit du travail aux Etats-Unis :

Comment veiller à compter et payer les heures supplémentaires des employés qui y sont éligibles en télétravail ?  Les petites tâches réalisées hors du shift doivent bien être prises en considération par l’employeur, nous disent les auteurs, tout comme le fait de répondre aux mails ou aux appels hors de la journée de travail.

Autres interrogations, à quelle loi le télétravailleur exerçant depuis un état différent du lieu de son bureau est-il soumis ? Et par extension, à quelle politique fiscale ?

Mais aussi, comment l’employeur prend-il en charge les frais liés au télétravail selon les états ? Si la Californie exige que les entreprises remboursent les dépenses engagées par les employés en télétravail, d'autres juridictions sont silencieuses ou imprécises à ce sujet.

Edmée Citroën